1

It is just the deepest Middle Ages when the Eishof was first mentioned in a document around 1290. As a Spartan farmhouse, it was already situated in the middle of the high mountain peaks in the deepest basin of the Pfossental valley. Here, where the peaks Grafspitze, Hohe Weiße and Hohe Wilde compete with each other.

2

Presumably it is exactly this variety of high mountains that makes the then still poorly equipped farm in the 19th century a base for mountaineers. A time when for the first time guests are allowed to stay overnight in the rustic rooms.

3

Because the Eishof was inhabited all year round around 1897, it was also regarded as the highest permanent settlement in the Eastern Alps. But just one year later it was only cultivated as a mountain hut and finally sold for 140,000 lire to ten farming families from the spa city of Meran. Six of them are still handsome owners of this historic building - and this despite the fact that arsonists tried to destroy the Eishof in 1973. With the help of the state government, however, the popular hiking destination was saved and rebuilt in its most beautiful form. Today it even has its own factory that supplies the entire Eishof with electricity.

4

A history that goes back so far and is still perceptible today - in the midst of the mighty infinity of the mountains.

Eishof im Pfossental
Eishof im Pfossental

1

Es ist gerade tiefstes Mittelalter, als der Eishof um 1290 das erste Mal urkundlich erwähnt wird. Als spartanisches Bauernhaus steht er bereits damals inmitten der hohen Bergspitzen im hintersten Talkessel des Pfossentals. Hier, wo sich Grafspitze, Hohe Weiße und Hohe Wilde mit ihren Höhenmetern messen.

2

Vermutlich ist es genau diese Vielfalt an hohen Bergen, die den damals noch schlecht ausgestatteten Hof im 19. Jahrhundert trotzdem zum Stützpunkt für Bergsteiger macht. Eine Zeit, in der in den urigen Zimmern zum ersten Mal auch Gäste übernachten dürfen. 

3

Weil der Eishof um 1897 ganzjährig bewohnt wurde, galt er außerdem als die höchstgelegene Dauersiedlung in den Ostalpen. Doch bereits ein Jahr später wurde er nur noch als Alm bewirtschaftet und schließlich um 140.000 Lire an zehn Meraner Bauernfamilien verkauft. Sechs von ihnen sind heute immer noch stattliche Besitzer dieses geschichtsträchtigen Gebäudes. Und das, obwohl Brandstifter 1973 versucht haben, den Eishof zu vernichten. Mit Hilfe der Landesregierung konnte das beliebte Wanderziel jedoch gerettet und in seiner schönsten Form wieder errichtet werden. Heute sogar mit eigenem Werk, das den ganzen Eishof mit Strom versorgt.

4

Eine Geschichte, die so weit zurück reicht und inmitten der mächtigen Unendlichkeit der Berge heute immer noch spürbar ist. 

Eishof im Pfossental
Eishof im Pfossental